✍ Be it Resolved

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Be Resolved.”

Rather than New Years resolutions — what about daily improvements? Do they count? And do they have to be called resolutions ? KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAAnd do they have to be proclaimed publicly ? I try to make corrections as soon as I realize there’s a problem. I don’t think anyone does this; but the whole idea of New Years resolutions suggests that that’s the only time improvements can be made.

Character is the ability to carry out a good resolution long after the excitement of the moment has passed.
Cavett Robert

I think I stopped making resolutions a few years after I realized my sister’s observation about me was right. She teased me about my habit of making resolution amendments. “You always say you’re gonna do something by Christmas .” Of course we laughed about it. But as soon as she said it, I knew she was right. It took me a while — as I caught myself stopping short of using Christmas as my deadline. If she were here, we would still be laughing about it. In fact, I’m smiling as I remember that the year-end holiday of Christmas was my mark for everything that needed to be done.

So, not only did I make resolutions. I amended the ones I had managed to actually keep with other improvements I thought needed to be made that year. I guess I tried the failed resolutions again the following year. Crazy . . . The mere mention of New Years resolutions can elicit a smirk and head-shake reaction from me. It’s actually pretty amusing to read other people’s resolutions as I think, “Did they actually wait until New Years to figure out they needed to make that change?”

Being my own worst critic, I’m happy to make self-improvements as the realizations arise. No, I do not make New Years resolutions. But I do look forward to reading other peoples’. It’s amusing to see that we all need to make similar adjustments.

I do, however, wish you a Happy, Prosperous, and Safe New Year.

To Be Resolved

4 thoughts on “✍ Be it Resolved

  1. Pingback: Yesterday, I Was Broken | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: Echoes through an Empty Church | Murder & missadventure

Your thoughts?

