The Analog or Virtual Commonplace (includes poll)

Commonplace_Book VOTE IN MY POLL BELOW! Commonplacing is applicable to any interest and beneficial to the individual. Solely for the sake of word-flow, this post will use commonplacing and journaling interchangeably. It’s a flexible tool that’s as beneficial in the craft room as in the board room.

  • There are pantry items, recipes, shopping lists, task items, cleaning, and decorating ideas for homemakers.
  • Scrapbookers can sketch layout ideas and plan future projects.
  • Genealogists can track documents, chronologies, locations, surnames, hidden ancestors, software apps.
  • The Bible scholar can outline the Bible by book, develop character study and word study pages, maintain topical studies.
  • Book enthusiasts can keep track of their TBR lists, review notes, pending releases.

It’s early enough in the year for me to implement an idea that hatched a week or so ago. Even though my Bible study journal will be maintained separately, I think I’ll keep sermon notes in my day-to-day journal. That way, I’ll be more likely to apply the teachings because I’ll have the notes to constantly remind me. The analog journal will just always be a part of my system. But, recent developments make digital journaling a reasonable choice as well. I prefer to do both. Commonplacing my blogs in a separate blog is my choice for managing these projects. Plus it helps me learn WordPress better.

The theme selection tool that WordPress offers is phenomenal. When I began using it, with mobility being the main criteria, I thought, “Now we’re getting somewhere!” Just as an analog journaler considers size, format, and color when selecting a journal to be used as a commonplace book, I want it to feel as if I’m flipping through the pages of my Moleskine. Therefore, with the digital aspect, asthetics are a factor as well. I switched themes about four times before I settled on Origin as the theme for my personal blog.

The first theme I selected was based on aesthetics alone. I was satisfied with my choice until I pulled it up on my phone. The display was less than I could handle. I had to scroll all over the place just to read a page. So it was, “back to the drawing board.” I tried a few others. They were mobile friendly but lacked the “personality” of Origin. That sounds funny; but developing and maintaining my commonplace blog needs to be an enjoyable experience. Just like the size and color options influence me to buy a certain analog journal — functionality, ease of use, and appearance are game-makers or -breakers in digital journaling.

3 thoughts on “The Analog or Virtual Commonplace (includes poll)

Your thoughts?

